Images of Innocence

I occasionally visit a mall near my office on days I want to have someplace temperate to take a walk and eat something that will leave me asking “why in the world would I, or anyone eat that” for the rest of the day. As important as those reasons may be there is something better at this mall; a carousel.img00236

The carousel itself is cool but more important are the riders. Little images of innocence who have no knowledge or worry in the world other than hanging on and enjoying the trip. It is great fun to watch and never fails to make me smile.

At the mall there are often other images of innocense; groups of handicaped people, young and old, who are on an outing. The apparent joy of their surroundings on many of their faces also makes me smile.

These two disparate images of innocence combine to get me thinking; there was a time when every person on earth, then and to come, had the opportunity at such innocence. Then there were two bites and our realities have all been much different.

This thought, at first very sober, then gets me smiling much like the images around me. Knowing Christ and my future in Him gives me hope and joy knowing that the innocence God always intended for our pleasure is available to every one of us.

2 Responses

  1. Very nice post. I enjoyed the picture you painted here.

  2. Hi
    You have a way with words. You are almost able to paint a picture with words. Yes, I too have seen happy faces shopping at malls – but this is a new way to look at things. This is Amanda from Israeli Uncensored News.
    http://samsonblinded.org/news/murakami-good-but-no-good-friend-9228

Leave a Reply

